Go Back   Farm Town > Social Forums > Farm Town Social

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 19 2018, 12:15 AM
larwin larwin is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 13 2012
Posts: 21
Default Farming idea to go all trees.

I was thinking of playing farmtown a little more passively. Could I plant trees on all my farms with a multiplanter then log in when i want to play awhile and still get a little experience when I harvest but not have to worry to check on my crops if i decide to go away a few days. we get exp for harvesting trees or hiring someone to do it? i think fishing doesn't give exp just money. any thoughts on running a tree only farm?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 19 2018, 12:34 AM
Taz D's Avatar
Taz D Taz D is offline
Senior Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2010
Location: Ace, Tx
Posts: 22,535
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by larwin View Post
I was thinking of playing farmtown a little more passively. Could I plant trees on all my farms with a multiplanter then log in when i want to play awhile and still get a little experience when I harvest but not have to worry to check on my crops if i decide to go away a few days. we get exp for harvesting trees or hiring someone to do it? i think fishing doesn't give exp just money. any thoughts on running a tree only farm?
Hi larwin,
You do not get experience for any harvesting on your own farms. Instead you get the crops to sell or use in your facilities. You can only get experience on your own farms by plowing or filling your facilities.
__________________
Taz
Dubh Glais Estates
Please come visit me on my farms (underlined link above) and if you see me say hi! I do ask that you not send me in-game messages for any problems other than forum login issues, as I can only help with those from my farm.
Post your problem or question here in the forums and we will gladly help you to solve it as quickly as we can.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 19 2018, 12:55 AM
larwin larwin is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 13 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taz D View Post
Hi larwin,
You do not get experience for any harvesting on your own farms. Instead you get the crops to sell or use in your facilities. You can only get experience on your own farms by plowing or filling your facilities.
so only time I get experience from trees is when i purchase them right? is there a strategy i could develop to base facilities around a tree farm and maybe switch my facilities to the ones that use harvests from trees? maybe do animals too. i was thinking along the lines of going away from the standard harvest and plowing farm. just some ideas if i want to step away and still have something workable when i come back. i'll study the facilities on my own see if i come up something that would work for this idea. i know there's a few facs that work with mainly harvests from trees. Thanks Taz I will post some facs later that would work for this idea.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 19 2018, 01:00 AM
Taz D's Avatar
Taz D Taz D is offline
Senior Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2010
Location: Ace, Tx
Posts: 22,535
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by larwin View Post
so only time I get experience from trees is when i purchase them right? is there a strategy i could develop to base facilities around a tree farm and maybe switch my facilities to the ones that use harvests from trees? maybe do animals too. i was thinking along the lines of going away from the standard harvest and plowing farm. just some ideas if i want to step away and still have something workable when i come back. i'll study the facilities on my own see if i come up something that would work for this idea. i know there's a few facs that work with mainly harvests from trees. Thanks Taz I will post some facs later that would work for this idea.
Hi larwin,
You will have to work that out for yourself. The Game Guide can help you. Only problem I see is most of the facilities that use the fruit from trees also require other things along with the fruit.
__________________
Taz
Dubh Glais Estates
Please come visit me on my farms (underlined link above) and if you see me say hi! I do ask that you not send me in-game messages for any problems other than forum login issues, as I can only help with those from my farm.
Post your problem or question here in the forums and we will gladly help you to solve it as quickly as we can.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 19 2018, 02:15 AM
larwin larwin is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 13 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taz D View Post
Hi larwin,
You will have to work that out for yourself. The Game Guide can help you. Only problem I see is most of the facilities that use the fruit from trees also require other things along with the fruit.
i researched it a bit. this way may be doable but you still need some crops for some things. you could spend a lot of time buying crops from other players. this is kind of hit and miss to be able to get needed crops. there's maybe only a handfull of facilities that could work with growing just trees. i think a player could switch between growing crops and running facilities. it seems a good idea to stock up a few days a week then have your neighbors work your facs. doing only trees may let someone build up coins but seems players need to open up to other markets. now doing trade ships and trains may help with getting extra crops but you need fairly active neighbors it seems. this was mainly an idea i was playing with. but seems you still need to be active with other things.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 12 2018, 08:04 AM
skjchaney skjchaney is offline
Account Not Linked
 
Join Date: Dec 30 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taz D View Post
Hi larwin,
You do not get experience for any harvesting on your own farms. Instead you get the crops to sell or use in your facilities. You can only get experience on your own farms by plowing or filling your facilities.
Thanks for the idea. I've been purchasing the harvesters to keep up with my plows. But for now I'll purchase only the plows to upgrade and now I'll only hire people to harvest my crops. I'll get more experience plowing and sowing my own fields.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Aug 15 2018, 01:04 AM
GoalieAunt GoalieAunt is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 24 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 69
Default

I did do something like this for awhile. I already had the trees and flowers. I emptied out all of my facilities and then looked at the products fin each one and if a facility didn't meet my needs I put it in storage. If it had enough things that I could work using animal, fish, tree or flower items, I kept them on a farm. For some facilities I do fill 100%, others were partial fill. I did keep making fuel and a few petro products. Since I have the loading tools, I could unselect products within a facility. It worked pretty well.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Nov 20 2018, 09:41 PM
RENEE'S RENEE'S is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 06 2018
Posts: 2
Default

i want to know how to layer i have the purple hand
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Nov 20 2018, 09:49 PM
Taz D's Avatar
Taz D Taz D is offline
Senior Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 29 2010
Location: Ace, Tx
Posts: 22,535
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RENEE'S View Post
i want to know how to layer i have the purple hand
Hi Renee's,
The purple hand is only an upgrade of the Green hand. The only thing it can do differently is that it can be used to buy the items from the store or move an item from storage to the farm.

You can find all the information on the purple hand in the Game Guide chapter 21 on Tools:
http://www.slashkey.com/forum/showthread.php?t=489090


Beyond that we are not allowed to give any more layering instructions in the forums.
__________________
Taz
Dubh Glais Estates
Please come visit me on my farms (underlined link above) and if you see me say hi! I do ask that you not send me in-game messages for any problems other than forum login issues, as I can only help with those from my farm.
Post your problem or question here in the forums and we will gladly help you to solve it as quickly as we can.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.